Balance – Rock the Boat

Last Friday I spoke on my concerns over the WoF movement. I realized after writing that post that I’ve shared my personal testimony, and my immediate stumble into legalism, but I have yet to tell you all how I was brought out of the Word of Faith movement specifically. Actually once saved discernment was given and I no longer watched the televangelist preachers I had previously loved. I didn’t understand at first why I was so uncomfortable watching them. I even felt guilty, like I was somehow betraying them.

Romans-12

A year went by and a friend of mine, who I had met in a Church of God as a teenager, sent me a link to the Strange Fire conference. It was not what rocked the boat, it was what helped balanced the boat after salvation had rocked it. I had been praying for understanding for a year, and while I could open my Bible, read, study, and understand, the bigger picture was missing. What was so wrong about the Word of Faith? Something was off I knew it, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. That same friend was saved not long after sending me the link, and I praise God for His mercy!

What happened to balance the boat after devouring every video of the conference? It has a beautiful name, it’s called ‘sound doctrine’ and once introduced to it, I can’t get enough! How truly wonderful it is to hear men proclaim Gods Word, not the parts they like, twisted and out of context, but the full counsel of it! There’s only one problem, my wicked heart that seems to love extremes.

Jeremiah-17:9

If you have any slight form of OCD you understand the deep need for balance, straight lines, equal amounts of steps on both the right and left foot, the same amount of bites on one side of the mouth as the other, balance folks! Balance! Just me? That’s ok…follow me here. I want to swing violently to the opposite side of this pendulum. After sitting under spiritual abuse by the scripturally ignorant I cringe at the idea of following anything that would bring God dishonor or grieve the Holy Spirit.

Due to this, it is a daily task to keep the balance, don’t rock the boat. Left foot, right foot. I tend to reject the miraculous immediately, without hesitation, although my heart was miraculously changed and I was saved by Gods great grace! Balance. We’re not told to reject the spirits, we’re told to test them. I can’t do that without better balance then I have right now. I hope you’ll pray for me, beloved brethren, as we grow in the grace and the knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ, together. Through your fellowship, in the past few months, I’ve been corrected, rebuked, chastened, encouraged, edified, instructed, and blessed.

First-John-1:6-7

I have a lot to learn, and a long way to go on this pilgrimage to the Celestial City. One thing I know for certain, you all have been a tremendous help to me. I suppose I started this post out meaning to tell you more about myself, if I’ve derailed there’s a simple explanation…you have all had a profound impact on me. Your blogs are all unique, they each give a piece of the person writing like you’ve all set about each day to add to the edifying of the body of Christ. It’s a beautiful way to keep myself balanced.

Thank-You

So today I thank you all for being good Berean’s and studying to show yourselves approved! If you ever think you make no difference, think again friends.

Author: lnhereford

I am a Christian, wife, mother, podcaster and homeschooler currently traveling the United States with my loving husband and darling daughter!

10 thoughts on “Balance – Rock the Boat”

  1. Thanks for your testimony, sister! Your posts and enthusiasm for the Lord have been a blessing to me! The big takeaway for me from this post is “balance.” I must strive for balance in my walk with the Lord in a couple of ways. I’m a doctrine/truth guy and balancing for me means tempering truth with grace and charity without compromising with error. Always a challenge for this “truth” guy (who actually [gulp, so hard to admit] may be wrong on some secondaries). Also, similar to what you’ve written, because of my nature, my “faith journey,” and what I regularly see from the TBN guys, I’m extremely skeptical of any claims of the miraculous. But the Lord is balancing that out for me as well. I see the Lord working in my life and in the circumstances in this world. Good post!

    RE: I hope you’ll pray for me, beloved brethren, as we grow in the grace and the knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ, together.

    Yes, I will and please pray for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, brother I was so concerned this post would be misunderstood but you got it 100% correct! The point is to avoid error and compromise, sometimes I get so concerned about one I avoid the other and vice verse. I don’t want to let the charlatans of TBN color my opinions in anyway, but they spent so many years swaying me one way it’s hard not to be swayed in the opposite direction. In fact, when I hear someone repeat what they’ve said I tend to immediately dismiss it, regardless of its truth. It’s been such a struggle for me to find a balance. Thank you for praying for me! I have and will continue praying for you brother.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you have your OCD monitored and maintained with the aid of a mental health professional–they can help you maintain the balance that we all deserve.

    If you have been spiritually abused, I hope you will check out Spiritual Sounding Board (a blog) where many spiritually (and otherwise) abused people congregate to heal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Catherine, I really appreciate your advice. My OCD is really mild, I’ve read some terrifying cases! I hope what I wrote was not insensitive to anyone who genuinely suffers.

      I’ll check out that blog you mentioned, it sounds very interesting. You know there was a point in my life where I was hurt by the people and teachings of a church. Once I was saved, I realized the problem was I had put my trust in the church and not in God. Man will always let you down, you and I likewise will always let others down. By grace I was saved, through faith in Christ alone. He will never leave me nor forsake me. In that way I am healed already from the spiritual hurt of others. Thank you again, Catherine!

      Like

  3. GOod post! How our heart is so sinful that we can go the other extreme of what we once were. This made me thought of my recent post I wrote about the Pharisical anti-Pharisee, of how even sometimes how some rail against Pharisees (real or imagined, often as a slander against those who are biblical) can become the very thing they are against: a Pharisee.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, that is a very good example of what I meant when I spoke of the pendulum of extremes! I was very much like that before getting saved, all the while washing the outside of the cup, calling true believers Pharisees. I was a white washed tomb, trying to fool God with my works. I railed against believers in an extreme way, not realizing I was what I was accusing others of. Praise God, with His grace, through faith in Christ alone, I was saved. Now I can still feel the nature of my flesh warring with my spirit, trying to push a new extreme. I am constantly reminded of my dearest longing for absence of body, and presence with the Lord!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment