Thursday Book Review – The Lord Our Righteousness

A book review on The Lord Our Righteousness by George Whitefield

George Whitefield (1714-1770) was an English cleric, and fresh air preacher, who traveled seven times to America contributing greatly to the Great Awakening. In his book, The Lord Our Righteousness, he makes the case for Christ’s imputed righteousness. This short book, published in 1741, is as relevant today as it was in the 18th century. The same battle between Calvinism and Arminianism rages today, as it did between Whitefield and Wesley.

While I won’t be taking sides in that fight, I do think we can learn a lot from the amount of respect both Whitefield and Wesley showed one another. The Lord Our Righteousness does not just tackle Armenianism, but also addresses atheism and Catholicism. It is, in its entirety, an elegant rebuttal of ecumenicism, while laying out the case for Biblical salvation. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in learning more about the Great Awakening, or church history in America.



As an aside, my favorite anecdote about Whitefield is the story of the men who used to mock him. They would get a copy of his sermons and bring it to the pub, cross their eyes like Whitefield’s, and impersonate him. One fellow had gotten pretty good at his Whitefield impression but got more than he bargained for in reading one sermon. As he read the great preachers words out loud to the laughing crowd he found himself face to face with salvation. The words he read pierced his heart and he went from mocking Whitefield to following him. I’m sure there are few beloved brothers and sisters reading this who have yet to be mocked by the unbelieving world. Remember, you’re in very good company, and God can change the hearts of the harshest critics. 


You can find this book in its Kindle version for only a dollar on Amazon! Almost as good as free, although this is the kind of book I definitely want in my future library once we stop traveling. I hope this book will be as much of a blessing to you, brethren, as it was for me. As always, be good Bereans and study to show yourselves approved!

Author: lnhereford

I am a Christian, wife, mother, podcaster and homeschooler currently traveling the United States with my loving husband and darling daughter!

5 thoughts on “Thursday Book Review – The Lord Our Righteousness”

    1. Wonderful, let me know what you think of it! It’s funny, I just heard that Whitefield was estimated to have preached 18,000 sermons but since he preached in the open air only 73 were ever recorded. So this book is a small portion of writings from him in comparison to his preaching. That seems to say it was important enough for him to go inside for a while and sit down at a desk to write. Fun to compare him to others, who wrote more then I could read in a lifetime!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is that old English style that’s so much harder to read, that might be why I prefer the audio versions of the older books. The audio version for this book was $20 though, first time I found an older book like this that wasn’t in the public domain. I like to work while I listen, it’s hard for me to find time to actually sit and read books outside the Bible.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment