Snow Days

Beloved brethren, I haven’t written in a couple days, usually when that happens it’s because something specific comes up with family. I normally don’t make excuses for myself, but this time I wanted to share it with you.


It’s snowing here! Snow! Real, soft, beautiful, extremely cold snow! Growing up in Dallas, Texas meant that ‘snow’ was usually sleet. I can count the number of times I saw real snow growing up on one hand. In our travels we have had several occasions now to see real snow. It seems like everything stops, everything slows down, when it snows.

I’m so thankful to God for these moments! I hope you’re winters will all be white, and safe, this year dear friends. As always, be good Berean’s and study to show yourselves approved.

Author: lnhereford

I am a Christian, wife, mother, podcaster and homeschooler currently traveling the United States with my loving husband and darling daughter!

15 thoughts on “Snow Days”

  1. I grew up in FtWorth and we always had ice come in sometime during the winter. They ( the Farmers almanac) say we could get some in Dec and again in Jan. We will see. Here in Mississipi it is rare.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah, the ice! That was always great as kids because school would be canceled, but what a pain when I became an adult and needed to get to work! The weather down south has been so crazy already this year, a good blanket of snow would fit perfectly.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah…you are lucky it just now snowed LOL. There will be plenty, trust me. I spent 7 winters in Wyoming, so I know a bit about those winters out that way. It’s weird here. November, and yesterday it made it to almost 80. Very odd.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. True to form, it’s snowing already this morning. We did an assignment in Gillette, WY a couple years ago and it was -15! I had never felt cold like that in my life! We try to travel south in the winter since then and north in the summer. We ended up here a little longer then we planned. Thankfully we just traded in our old truck for one with four wheel drive. We’d had been in some trouble! I’ll try not to covet your 80 degree weather when I go grocery shopping tomorrow.

        Like

  2. Thanks for the “foreshadowing,” sister! We haven’t had snow yet here in Western New York, but your post reminds me that it’s on its way. We have many oak trees in our backyard so my free time in November is totally consumed with gathering the leaves and hauling them to the curb on a tarp. Last year I conceded that I was no longer able to physically rake that many leaves and bought a powerful gas-powered leaf blower, which reduces the amount of raking dramatically. Praise the Lord for helpful tools!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You know, sister, I should have discussed the similarities between snowflakes and the fingerprints! I forgot until you sent these, they’re both beautiful evidences of Gods design. I can’t help but have my breath taken away when I look out at the ground covered in glistening White knowing God artfully created each snowflake.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment