Why Testify?

For the past couple months, I have posted a testimony every Wednesday, and I intend to continue that pattern so long as I have testimonies to write about. However, I wanted to take a couple weeks to divert from that, just to give a simple explanation of why we testify, what a testimony is, and what makes it so powerful.

Why should we give our testimonies? I’m not a Greek scholar by any means, and although I thoroughly enjoy word studies, I’m simply not knowledgeable enough to give you a well laid out explanation of the different words in the New Testament for testifying. What I can tell you is that a testimony is very important, we read in John chapter 3 that no man received the Messiahs testimony. Paul speaks of the testimony of Christ in 1 Corinthians. Christ told His disciples to dust off the dirt from unbelieving towns from their feet, as a testimony against them.

fullsizeoutput_1501As I read through all the scriptures in both the New and Old Testament on testimony I recognized the double-edged sword that it is. In one hand a testimony is proclaiming truth to the believers, on the other hand, it’s proclaiming judgment on the lost.  Why testify? Because Jesus Christ didn’t come to this earth to create peace but to divide. The goats from the sheep, the wheat from the tares, good fruit from bad fruit. Without this understanding, I never would have seen I was lost and in desperate need to be saved.

It was a man’s testimony against sin, and for Christ, that revealed my own depravity. Until I had heard the testimony of Christ, I believed I had saved myself through the sinner’s prayer. I was in bondage to sin until the day the Lord saved me and freed me. There is the idea in our current culture that if we love someone we will not correct them. Don’t make them feel bad, don’t offend anyone, no one is going to want to go to church with you if you’re telling them a list of rules to follow! So everyone keeps their testimony to themselves, for fear of offending anyone. But is this really love?

I believe it is love, but not love for others, love for self. Becuase we desire for the world to like us, we want to be accepted, we want our friends and family to respect us, we keep our testimony to ourselves. I pray that God will give you, and I, a desire to love the lost more than we love our own reputation. Beloved, do not be ashamed of the Gospel, proclaim to anyone who will listen the testimony of what God has done!

There are many preachers and teachers that will not warn their congregation of hell, they do not seek the glory of God, but rather desire to be worshiped themselves. Jesus Christ, Himself warned about hell more than any other man in the Bible. How can we, being His followers, not do the same? How can we give the lost the Good News without first telling them the bad news?

If you have a testimony I would be blessed to hear it, please feel free to write them in the comments. The lost who stumble onto this humble blog might read it, and believe. For my own personal testimony, click here. As always, friends, be good Bereans and study to show yourselves approved!

 

Author: lnhereford

I am a Christian, wife, mother, and homeschooler currently traveling the United States with my loving husband and darling daughter!

4 thoughts on “Why Testify?”

  1. Here’s my testimony from my “About” page:

    I was baptized into the Catholic church as an infant, had my first confession and received my first communion when I was seven, and was confirmed when I was ten. All of my parents’ six children attended parochial grammar and Catholic high school. I wouldn’t say my family was piously religious by any stretch but we did attend mass every Sunday. I was an altar boy from 5th through 8th grades and even entertained the idea of being a priest someday but lost most of my interest in religion by the time I went to high school. Like most Catholics my “faith” was just a part of my family and cultural baggage. I do remember having a bit of an epiphany in 6th grade when the question occurred to me, “If going to Heaven is a matter of obeying the Ten Commandments and church rules as Catholicism teaches then why did Jesus have to die on the cross?” Little did I know the Holy Spirit was working in my heart even then.

    “I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!” – Galatians 2:21

    After my wife and I were married and our two sons were born I was determined to be a responsible Dad and raise our children in the Catholic faith. I began attending mass again and even bought a Catholic Bible. Catholics aren’t generally encouraged to read the Bible and relatively few do. As I read the New Testament I discovered many discrepancies between God’s Word and Catholicism. I became so disillusioned that I stopped attending mass. As I continued to read the Bible a couple of born-again Christians witnessed to me at work. I found from the Bible that salvation cannot possibly be earned by baptism, church membership, obeying the Ten Commandments, or trying to be “good” as Catholicism teaches, salvation for sinful man is only by the grace of God through faith in Jesus Christ ALONE!

    “For it is by grace you have been saved,through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.” – Ephesians 2:8-9

    “Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” – John 14:6

    My wife and I accepted Jesus Christ as our Savior in 1983 and began attending an independent fundamental Baptist church in the area. We grew somewhat in the Lord after eight years but eventually the legalism of that church took its toll. I became exasperated and walked away from the Lord for 23 years because my trust had been in men rather than God. But thankfully the Lord was merciful and patient with me and kept calling me back to Him.

    I returned to the Lord in 2014 but after my long absence I was surprised to see how many Evangelical pastors and para-church leaders were embracing Rome with its “gospel” of sacramental grace and merit. But we’re not discouraged because our foundation is the Lord, not man.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

