A Layman’s Review of Strong’s Concordance

Book Review

Today I’m going to review a different type of book, the Strong’s Concordance. Some might have already found this treasure, however, since I spent a decade in church without ever hearing about it, I thought I would give it a quick review.

What is this Concordance I speak of? It’s AMAZING that’s what it is! Strong’s Concordance is a book written by James Strong published way back at the end of the 19th century.

James Strong
James Strong, American Methodist Theologian by Matthew Brady

I cannot even imagine what it took to complete something this extensive before there was google.

This must be why it’s full title is Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible.

This wonderful gem lists every word written in the Bible, in Hebrew and Greek, along with every scripture you can find it. What is the best part about this book? Good question! The best part is that it is now in app format. You type a word in from your Bible, click search, and it brings up every place within the KJV that you can find said word.

With this book, next to your Bible you will be able to dig far deeper than before. When you want to understand where the full armor of God came from you can search each word and find yourself awestruck by how much of the NT is quoting from the OT.

There is a Hebrew tradition called the law of first mentions. This dictates that to understand a word you first need to find it where it first appears in the text. Take the context of the first appearance and apply it to the text you are reading. I’m not saying this is the only way to study, but it certainly is a fun way to look at it!

There are a few different versions of the Concordance, but I have been very blessed by the free one I downloaded on my smartphone. If you like to study away from the screen there are many versions available on Amazon which cost much less than you’ll spend at a Christian bookstore.

I hope you find this Bible help has much of a blessing as I have friends!

If you’ve missed my other book reviews here are the links; A Review of The Autobiography of George MullerA Review of The Pilgrim’s Progress

Author: lnhereford

I am a Christian, wife, mother, and homeschooler currently traveling the United States with my loving husband and darling daughter!

4 thoughts on “A Layman’s Review of Strong’s Concordance”

  1. I own a STRONG’S Concordance in my Library and a Geneva Holy Bible as well!!

    May our ONE True GOD the FATHER who art in HEAVEN ABOVE Bless All my Sisters and Brothers in Christ Jesus-Yeshua and Your Families and Friends!!

    Love Always and Shalom ( Peace ) Everyone, YSIC \o/

    Kristi Ann

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

