WHY, how, where, and what’s of HOMESCHOOLING

Before I get into the nitty gritty of the how, where, and what’s of our homeschooling journey lets start with the ever so scandalous why?

Science Class

Before I get into the nitty gritty of the how, where, and what’s of our homeschooling journey lets start with the ever so scandalous why?

Before I dig into it, let me preface this by saying that my personal belief in the importance of homeschooling is not a direct affront against your support for the public school. OR if you happen to be a homeschooling mommy (or daddy) that does things differently then we do…that’s ok too! That’s right, I said it. It’s ok to put your child in public school, or private school, it’s even ok to unschool. Children do not fit into a one size fits all profile any more than the parents that raise them. It’s sort of on the list of things that make America a really cool place to live!fullsizeoutput_11e3

So, now that we have tried (hopefully successfully) to take the guilt out of reading this blog, let me tell you why we homeschool. I really want to get past this blog and get into all the things about our homeschooling life that rocks! You might be wondering why I’m even talking about homeschooling on a blog that’s predominately focused on scriptures. That’s a good question self! Thank you, self.

Why I homeschool will sum that all up, because public schools teach the theory of evolution. I take the bible very seriously, and as a creationist who believes in a literal six-day creation week (I mean can you think of any other reason why seven days is a week? We have the sun to tell us a day is 24 hours, and the moon to give us an idea of the months, but where did the week come from? Think about it) the idea of exposing my daughter to evolutionary theory as fact rather than theory made me nervous.

Creation Science
In the Beginning, God made heaven and earth

Obviously, there are as many reasons why some people homeschool as there are for why others don’t. I didn’t start out considering homeschooling, I didn’t even start out believing in six days of creation! Oh, lets be honest, if you read my first blog, My Testimony, then you know I didn’t even start out as a Christian parent! So what happened? I watched my older sister run through a deck of flash cards with her toddler. I wasn’t married yet, so children weren’t a thought in my mind. However, I tucked the amazement I felt at watching such a tiny brain learn so quickly away in a file. When my daughter was born I pulled that file out and got her some flash cards. I started filming her, in shock at what she could absorb. The tiny little sponge could name all the states on the map, colors, shapes, animals with their sounds, letters in the alphabet and count to ten before she was 2! In response to my videos, a friend messaged me and began encouraging me to homeschool.IMG_2178

When Kayleigh was two I began digging into the facts about evolution, or the lack thereof. Which is a blog for another day! (Don’t worry I will get to it) Even with that, the terror of common core, and the fact that my daughter was picking things up so quickly, I still didn’t believe I was qualified. I only had a year and a half of college with no plans to go back. If it hadn’t been for the encouragement of that friend I wouldn’t have considered it. But she gave me links and recourse’s, tips and more encouragement until I decided I would do it. Then, of course, we began our journey traveling with my husbands work and the plan for homeschooling on the road was cemented!

We faced plenty of opposition. We still do, actually. Of course, the number one thing we’re asked is ‘what about socialization?’ PLEASE, please, please don’t leave that question in the comments. When you work through this logically you’ll come to the same conclusion we all do, in the real life no one socializes like they did in public school. In fact, as we go to work in whatever field we find ourselves in, we invariably find ourselves surrounded by diverse age groups. I even sat through a staff counseling session at an architectural firm I worked at before becoming a stay at home mommy, the entire session was about how to bridge the gap between the age barriers in our office. Why? Because we aren’t taught how to socialize with anyone outside our close age range. I understand why schools do this, don’t get me wrong. I just don’t understand why everyone asks about socialization. Where did this come from? How is it programmed into so many people’s minds as the first argument against homeschooling? It’s a mystery. Mostly I get support, random strangers naturally ask my daughter about school, and when she announces she’s homeschooled, they usually give me a verbal pat on the back. It’s rare, in our travels, that I meet a disapproving look, and even more rare for someone to say something. I think common core has a lot to do with that. Most of the negativity came from, and still sometimes comes from, friends, family, or acquaintances.  Or if I’m being brutally honest here the mass of negativity really comes from my own brain. Thanks, brain! I have to fight back the ideas of impending failure daily. Maybe that’s why others negative responses are burned into my mind?

Now that you know why we homeschool look forward to a blog, at least (hopefully) once a week with updates, encouragement, tips, tricks, recourse’s…all the things that helped me so much!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: lnhereford

I am a Christian, wife, mother, and homeschooler currently traveling the United States with my loving husband and darling daughter!

11 thoughts on “WHY, how, where, and what’s of HOMESCHOOLING”

  1. Just last month, a friend of mine from Germany, our exchange student, wrote to me asking about my thoughts on America’s scientific progress. He had come from a Lutheran background and is now an astrophysicist doing solar research in Japan. I told him that so long as Creationism is the predominant teaching accepted in Christian households, we will be held back as our ancient brothers and sisters were in the Dark Ages who believed that the sun revolved around the earth because the Church says that the Bible says so. Science is asking questions and seeking answers; faith is belief that doesn’t necessarily have to depend upon evidence. Somehow my Lutheran friend found harmony in both; having faith in his beliefs and traditions about God; and also having a sharp and open scientific mind that never stops questioning and seeking answers. I wish I could say that I knew lots of Christian kids who grew up to be scientists who have made many advances; but I cannot. My churches taught me that science is dumb and that a good Christian stands up for God by standing up to their science teachers whenever school textbooks lie to them. The sad thing is – I really liked the science classes that I took; from astronomy to zoology – geology was a favorite of mine; but Christianity told me that science was up to no good. Ultimately I decided that it was important to learn as much as I could about everything, but there’s no rule that says I must believe everything that I was taught. I was consistent with that idea; carrying it over to the church as well. Learning Christianity, but falling out of belief a little bit at a time; had Christianity been more open – and not had a “us or them” approach, who knows, perhaps both halves of my being would been wholly accepted. In the war between church and science, I was one of many casualties.

    Like

    1. Hello Jamie! I had a very similar experience but somehow backwards. I believed everything my science teachers taught, I loved science too. They taught it with such conviction, I was even taught that the word ‘theory’ didn’t mean theory it meant fact. When I left school I began to look closely at evolution, and found that it was assumption not fact. I was pretty devastated. The more I researched, hours upon hours, for several years, I was hard pressed to come up with one single fact. There are no scientific laws active in evolution, just the opposite. We are not evolving we’re de-evolving as we would expect keeping with the laws of thermodynamics. The science of genetics has given us a frightening depiction of what devastation the genetic mutations are having. I didn’t understand why my science teachers hadn’t just told the truth, that these were assumptions made by men who had an evolutionary world view. Thus they are unable to separate themselves any more then a Christian is. Science is my daughters favorite subject. She’s well aware of the theory of evolution, and she’s aware of the theory of creation. I plan on teaching her facts, then giving her both sides of the argument. Then I’ll let her come to her own conclusions. This is an important distinction from what public schools do and what I plan to do. As to what you said about the church’s views on science…I’ve experienced that too. It’s very sad, you should look into Newtons work. He wrote over 10,000 words on the book of Daniel alone. Men use to use science to better understand the God of the universe. Now they act like there is a conflict between God and science. When science is viewed objectively it cries out for a creator. There is a website called Creation Magazine that you might find helpful. I hope you’re able to connect more dots, and find your way to salvation. It wasn’t until I had fully worked through all of evolution and creationism before I realized God was the creator, I was a sinner, my sin separated me from God, and I was in need of a savior. When I cried out in repentance, asking for forgiveness and salvation, my life changed. Not in a cliche hallmark way like I though Christianity was…in an earth shattering, chain breaking, kind of way. Thanks for commenting Jamie, I appreciated hearing your point of view!

      Like

      1. I just don’t believe that I have to believe in Creationism at this point. I can’t believe that I let it destroy good friendships and burn perfectly decent bridges. Now when I watch Kent Hovind’s Creation Science Evangelism Seminar, it strikes me as dishonest. When I look at how the Creation Museum and Ark Encounter fudge the details to try fill in the gaps, I just shake my head. Jesus said something about the scriptures coming down to two things – one of which was loving other people. I decided not to waste my time on ideologies that prevent me from doing just that – and for me, Creationism is one such ideology.

        Like

      2. I’m sorry to hear that friendships were destroyed…people get pretty heated over this particular topic. Actually I guess people get pretty heated over lots of topics these days. We’re told to love our enemies and pray for those who misuse us, bless those who curse us. I’ve watched a lot of Kent Hovinds seminars, most of them are pretty outdated since they’re from before he went to jail. All these men in creation ministries are flawed, they’re going to make mistakes. Jesus is the only sinless, perfect man and he referenced Genesis as history. That’s all the evidence I need, the rest is just for enjoyment. Science is such a fascinating subject.

        Like

  2. WTF?!?! Sorry, I got stuck at why there are 7 days in a week. Honey, there are 7 days in a week because a lunar month is 28 days, more or less. And 28 days x 13 months works out to be 364 days, which is very near the approximately 365.25 days in a solar year. The ancient peoples were avid stargazers and knew how long a year is and mathematics are something you can discover without some divine being. You can change words, terms, whatever, but the ratio of the diameter of a circle to it’s circumference will always be 3.14159…………. (to infinity, so far as we know). The squares of two sides of a right triangle will always equal the square of it’s hypotenuse.

    This basic information would have been taken as a sign of mystical creation gods and used in their creation stories. If we lived on a world with longer or shorter rotations of the moon and sun, our week would be different.

    In modern religious terms, the use of the week as proof of God is made incredibly silly because there is no consensus of how that week is supposed to be “worshipped”. Jews celebrate the Sabbath on Saturday. Oddly enough, this puts Jews on the same sort of schedule as most Spanish speaking (yet Christian) countries! Meaning, that the Sabbath is celebrated at the END of a long week. But, Spanish speaking countries, don’t celebrate on Saturday; they’ve arranged their calendar so that the week starts with Lunes (Monday) starting in the leftmost column. Of course, this leaves us Westerners with a conundrum: how can we call it a day of rest, when technically it’s the first day of a week we haven’t done anything in yet?! This makes us look lazy!

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh why have I never heard these facts! This is why I love the internet…I’m going to have to spend the next few days researching days and how they relate…thanks for the info!

      Like

    2. So just in a few minutes I see that your incorrect. The ancient ‘stargazers’ in China and Egypt had a ten day week. I appreciate your comment, I’m going to continue researching this.

      Like

      1. Huh. Interesting.

        Actually, now I really regret deleting my first reply and rewriting it from a scientific basis (because it hit me as I was writing it that 7 goes into 28 4 times and I believe it was the Incas who created a pyramid with 91 steps on each of 4 sides with the top platform representing the 365th day.

        Oh wait! Through the magic of cut and paste (because I wasn’t sure it I’d need my original post when I realized I could write it better) I still have it!

        “WTF?!?! Sorry, I got stuck at why there are 7 days in a week. Honey, there are 7 days in a week, yes, BECAUSE of religion. At some point, somewhere, someone created the idea that the world was created in 7 days, thus it stuck. The old testament, which is essentially Judaism, means that this was not a Christian first idea! And the Jews picked it up from some even older religion, I’m sure (feel free to research the various # of days of creation/# of days in a week in other cultures).

        My point is that the only reason we CURRENTLY use 7 days in the week is that culturally it is tradition. In an alternate Universe, which I’m not implying actually exist, a dominant religion with 10 days of creation would have a 10 day week! You are taking dominance, culture, and tradition and trying to turn it into some permanent fact. This is actually just BS, because at the end of the week, as it is, it doesn’t really matter!

        Except…a lunar month is 28 days, more or less. And 28 days x 13 months works out to be 364 days, which is very near the approximately 365.25 days in a solar year. MAYBE this is why the original creation story people came up with 7 days: astronomy and math (note my sarcasm–this is actually a damn good hypothesis for why we have 7 days in a week!)

        Like

      2. I think there is a common misconception about Judaism and Christianity which might seem as a mute point, since you clearly think this is all silly, but Christianity came from a Jewish savior. The religions are not separate, which is why Christians believe in the same creation story as the Jews. I only mention that in passing, since you took the time to make the distinction in your cut and paste comment. Actually, to the point of me taking dominant cultural traditions and making them permanent fact, I think your comment verified the science behind the 7 day week. Although I’ll have to keep researching it, as most cultures held to a 360 day year for a while then changed it…probably with a better view of the mathematical formulas. It’s fascinating to me that we can both look at this set of material and view it differently. I see a God who works with precision here, as the Bible tells us His handy work all around us will clearly cry out in evidence of Him. He made a 7 day week, your math shows how and why. Which is why I was originally so excited when you posted it, and disappointed when I couldn’t find the evidence you referred to. Not that I doubt the math, I’m just trying to find the original source. When you look back in the scientific Fathers like Newton they were searching for God in His creation. I realize that in secular circles that idea is silly. However, I believe it’s still important, and it will be a major focus of this blog. I hope you’ll come back and keep challenging what I’m finding and writing. It’s very edifying! I pray you’ll have an open mind, and eventually come to saving Grace.

        Like

Leave a Reply

